How hard is this hobby?

I’m new to SGP, and trying out my kit with it. Last night was a run to try auto focus. Having tried and failed miserably with Maxim in the past, so was pleasantly surprised to find sgp gave nice repeatable v curves.
So tonight, after a bank of clouds, I set up to see if my filters were parfocal. Tried for three hours, and could not get a single good v curve, on lumminence, let alone the other filters. Thinking of taking up knitting, at least I could do it in the warm

Huw

Huw - can you share your settings - aperture, microns per step, exposure, filter … - perhaps some screen grabs. I had issues when I first started. Coming from Maxim/Focusmax, I was used to short exposures. Initially with SGP I did not give it sufficient exposure - the faint donuts were being misread as low HFD. Once I gave sensible exposures (typically about 10s for luminance, 15 for RGB and 30 for narrow band, depending on the stars - I have had, fingers crossed, very very few dropouts.

The main reason why autofocus doesn’t work for me is when the exposure time
is too short. Or that I’m nowhere near the focal point.

MarkS

We’ve all been there Huw. Those who persevere are the ones who eventually get good images. Like buzz says we need much more information regarding equipment and settings before we can be of much help.

If you say you had perfect V curves at one time, what changed between that and the failure?

Hmmm, now that I’m in the warm, I can apply a bit of reasoning. It had been raining earlier this evening, and then went very cold. There were clouds initially passing over, which cleared.
I’m imaging at f4, with a focuser that gives 10 microns per step. CFZ for f4 should be about 50 microns, I set autofocus every 10 steps, and 7 positions. The resulting V curves were mostly zig zag lines, not Vs. Possibly very bad seeing would cause this, will wait for another clear night and try again, with present weather, will update you next year.

Huw