Plate Solve Accuracy

Hi, I’m an SGP beginner and trying to decide whether to purchase. The plate solving aspect is very important to my final decision. I have tried as many of the features as I can - with varying degrees of success - before my trial expired. My question is this :

Given an image taken on a previous night, will SGP slew to the exact image position having solved the image or just use the image as a hint and expect you to manually select the final image position?

I could select a previous image which then displayed a library image and I had to draw the image area onto it manually. Is this the only way to use your own images or am I missing a trick?

Andy

SGP will solve and slew your mount within sub-arcsecond precision of the center of the reference image. However it’s unlikely that your mount can slew with this level of accuracy so you’ll probably end up (at best) within a couple of arcseconds of the target. SGP can be set to run the Auto Center process multiple times so that you can get closer to the target by syncing very close to it. However you still usually won’t get it “dead on” as most mounts have some level of backlash. So I guess the question is, what do you consider “exact”?

You can use a previous image as a reference for the target location. See here:
http://www.mainsequencesoftware.com/Content/SGPHelp/LocationToolsPlateSolving.html

Thanks,
Jared

Thank you Jared. That is exact enough for me.

With my cge-pro the centering accuracy is I think around 30-45" in a few tests I have done. This is limited by the accuracy of the slew itself - not the plate solve. Other mounts may be different - but the key is that since the final position depends on the mount landing exactly where it was told to go - which is hard to do - the plate solve and sync are only part of the operation.

At around 0.5" per pixel, that is 60-90 pixels.