Pulse Guiding, The Right Rhythm

I am not sure what the right way of launching guiding is (PHD). Should it be launched from inside SGP environment or independently from it?

Thanks for any input.

I would also like to know the answer.

In my case, SGP is never able to start PHD. So I start it manually, perform calibration and then start capture in SGP. SGP is then able to talk to PHD to start guiding. Sometimes, PHD ends up picking a bad star. In that case, I just start guiding in PHD by manually picking the right star and tell SGP to just capture. Luckily SGP is able to send dither commands to PHD.

After doing some reading, it looks like the only thing that SGP wants to do
is to send dither signals to a Guider that is already running by itself
although in my case I can launch PHD2 from SGP. I have concluded that
unless you want to dither, which I don’t yet because I am a beginner, SGP
and PHD do not need to be aware of each other.

Hi Pawan,

Next time this happens could you please save the guider image (PHD2 menu: File, Save Image) and post it to the PHD2 Forum. Please also include your PHD2 debug log with your post.

For PHD2 to work with automated imaging apps like SGP, it needs to be able to reliably select the best guide star in the frame, and we believe it is pretty good at doing that based on our collection of sample guider frames that we use to test with. Ideally, you should never have to manually select the guide star. If there are cases that PHD2 is not handling, we would like to investigate, but we need to see the camera frame and debug log.

Thanks,
Andy