The Crescent Nebula and M33 images - taken using SGP

I’ve been using SGP for a few months, and have been lurking around the forum, but have only just joined the forum,so I wanted to say “Hi”. I live in Somerset in the UK and run a Tak FSQ106ED on a 10 Micron GM1000HPS mount with an Atik 460ex mono camera in a 7ft diameter observatory.

Here are my most recent images - all taken through gaps in the seemingly never ending cloud we get here in the UK:

Hope you like them.

Steve

3 Likes

Beautiful work! Hard to believe that you took those images with a 4 inch scope! The new sony CCDs are excellent tools!

CS,

Jose

Agreed, well done Steve.

Thank you Jose and Joel - I’m pleased you like them.

Steve

Nice pictures!

Beautiful images, especially the Crescent (with the Soap Bubble - fantastic!).

Can I ask a couple questions about your technique? First, you used darks. I use them with my SXVR-H694, but this is the first time I’ve heard of anyone else using them with an ICX694-chipped camera. The common wisdom says this chip needs no darks, though my 20-minute NB subs clearly benefit from them. What is your experience?

Second, 45 minute subs! How close is that to sky limited?

Again, really beautiful work.

Kevin

Many thanks!

Hi Kevin. Thanks for your kind comments.

In answer to your questions - I always use darks, bias and flats. I did a comparison with some 45min HA subs last weekend of the difference between dark,bias and flat calibrated, dark, super bias and flat calibrated, bias and flat calibrated, super bias and flat calibrated and flat only calibrated…and the difference was very marginal indeed. It came down to a qualitative visual judgement and I went for dark, bias and flats as the “slightly smoothest”. Incidentally each of these combinations used identical dithered frames, the same preprocessing script and the same image registration and integration settings in Pixinsight.