Dome slews away during auto center when target near meridian

Tried posting this via Report-a-Problem but kept getting an error.

Encountered evening of Jan 12th around/after 9pm local time.

I’ve been encountering this problem for a couple years. Have posted about it before although I can’t seem to find my previous posts on the issue. The problem is intermittent in that it only happens when a sequence is initiated and the first target happens to be close to, but not past, the meridian (let’s say up to ~30-60 minutes before meridian).

In this scenario, during the auto center routine, the dome opening slews away just before the camera takes an image to solve. The camera/scope ends up taking an image of the inside wall of the dome. Obviously the image solver fails because there are no stars. Interestingly, the dome slews back to the proper orientation after the camera finishes taking the image.

Not sure why this happens. Meridian flips work flawlessly and consistently, if the sequence starts when the target is well before the meridian. Only thing I can think of is that when the dome receives the slew command (as part of auto centering) and the target is already near the meridian, it somehow thinks the mount/telescope has already flipped to other side of pier (and it therefore needs to “flip” as well)? And then maybe slews back because the “slave to mount” kicks in?

So perhaps this is a dome driver issue? The dome is MaxDome II running through ASCOM Device Hub Dome (because 64 bit SGP and MaxDome is 32 bit only). Mount is MX+ and the TSX ASCOM driver has “Can get pointing state” checked.

Would appreciate your input before I try chasing this with MaxDome/Diffraction Limited. Is it possible that the dome slew command during auto center is different than a regular slew command? Or possible that dome slew calculation would get messed up if target close to meridian?

Attached is a diagram outlining the series of events and when the problem occurs.