Exposure Time vs. Total Sequence Time...wasting 50% of Imaging Time

I’m new to using SGP and really like the features and ease of use but the ratio between actual exposure time compared to the imaging session time is horrible. Last time it took 8 hours to yield 4 hours of exposures (170 x 120s exposures).

Is there anything I can do to speed up the sequencing to get a better ratio of exposures to imaging time?

Could you tell a little more about your setup?
Camera type? CMOS/CCD?
If you dither, how often?
How often do you run autofocus?

Sorry, that would be helpful.

Camera: ZWO ASI1600MM Pro w/ Filter Wheel.
Mount: Paramount MyT
Focuser: Pegasus Astro Focus Cube

Using a NUC at the mount via Remote Desktop connection to the house. Dithering every expsoure (will be changing this to every 3rd exposure). Auto focus set to LUM filter with offsets for RGB and Ha filters, 9 images at 8 seconds at 2x2 binning. I’m going to try to reduce the auto focus exposures to 4 seconds to save some time. Usually auto focus every 10 - 15 exposures but last night only auto focused between each filter (4 filter changes).

Just to be clear on something, you said you only autofocused at filter changes. Were you rotating through events, or did you choose Finish entire events first? If you were rotating through events then you would have been doing an autofocus after each exposure.

A log file might be helpful. You definitely shouldn’t be losing 4hrs over an 8hr night.

One cause is definitely your crappy NUC, they are not very good for astronomy use, definitely not with a fast CMOS camera with a 16mp sensor.
SGP does a little processing after each image is downloaded and before a new exposure is started, this certainly takes away time and the slower the computer the more time this steals.
People have asked for SGP to be able to start an exposure as soon as the last one was done like some other softwares can do, i really hope this can be enabled because i’m using a CMOS camera too.