Focussing a Starlight Express SXV H9-C

Please forgive me (and point me in the right direction if this is not the correct topic for this forum, I am very new to this and dont want to offend :slight_smile:

Until now have been using a DSLR Canon 1100D together with my Sky-Watcher Explorer 250 to take some adequate images using Backyard EOS. I have an EQ6 mount connected to a laptop using an EQMOD cable and guide using a QHY5II camera connected to a EGZ-60 scope. I have sporadic success with astro tortilla and reasonable success with PHD2 and until now everything has been working well (as well as anything astro works that is lol).

Anyway, a friend has recently given me a Startlight Express SXV H9-C which has its own seperate guider and told me to replace my my DSLR to start taking better pictures, he has recommended using SGP.

I have removed the DSLR and fitted the SXV H9C (I decided not to use its autoguider camera as the cable isn’t long enough to reach to my EGZ-60 and to be honest I am happy enough with the guiding setup I have.

I have managed to add all of my equipment to SGP (scope, mount and cameras) and I have found the focus section of SGP and this is where I’m having problems :frowning: I cant bloody focus the thing - talk about having all the gear and no idea, I feel so stupid!

I have the SXV H9C attached to the view finder, I wind it all the way out, start the frame and focus and slowly (over several minutes) wind in the focusser until it is wound all the way in, I never see anything (not even a smudge on the screen). I am pretty sure that I have everything setup because if I shine a light into the end of the camera I get a white screen so the camera must be reacting to light right?) I have also added an extender (maybe I’m not wound out enough? However doing the same thing I get nothing on the screen, its really frustrating, especially when I know I can reattach my DSLR and start imaging in minutes.