Full Well ADU for Canon 500D

Greetings,

I am new to SGP and was using the Flats calibration wizard last night and was not sure what my full well ADU was for my Canon 500D was, but I think I might have found out but wanted to run this by this group for confirmation or correction.

I was doing flats for a few different ISOs and at the higher ISOs (800 and 1600) the first few 5s exposures all ended up at 62463 ADU - never higher. At 1600 the first two exposures were at this same number.

Is this telling me that 62463 is my full well ADU number?

Also, what is a good tolerance range for these flats? The wizard had no problem using its iterative process to get within 500 ADU at 400 ISO, but at the higher values it failed each time until I increased the tolerance to 3000. How far off 50% full well is too far?

Thanks

Tom

I think I may have answered my own question by using PI statistics. I realize that the 16 bit image is 2 to the 16th or 65536 as the total dynamic range. I guess I should have known this from the outset…

1. Full well capacity is expressed in units of [e-], not [ADU]. So you need to know the conversion gain [e-/ADU] that is related to the ISO setting. Higher ISO setting means lower conversion gain.

2. The Canon EOS 500D has an A/D converter with 14 bits. That means, in the CR2 file, the largest theoretically possible value is 2^14 - 1 = 16383. If you are saving FIT files, these values are multiplied by factor 4 (this is done by the camera driver or by SGP), so the largest theoretically possible value then is 2^16 - 1 = 65535. So I conclude that you are using FIT files.

3. Consequently you have to divide the largest value that you found by factor 4 for your calculation:
    62463 ADU / 4 = 15616 ADU. Multiplying this number by the conversion gain results in the full well capacity in [e-].

Bernd