Local Astrometry server slow

Hi, this is my first post on this form, I’m just getting started with SGP, so please bear with me.

I’m trying to blind solve a saved image file, if I use the online server it does it in about 14 seconds. If I use a local server, it takes forever, approx 250 seconds. I assume I’m doing something wrong.

Thanks for any tips, and btw, so far I love what SGP has to offer.

Huw

Huw,

Maybe you could post the problematic .fit image somewhere so we can look at it?

Thanks,
Andy

Thanks, but it’s not the file that’s the problem, I’ve tried a few, it’s much more likely the steam powered laptop I’m using. Didn’t think of the amount of calculating it’s having to do.

Huw

Huw,

Your PC processing power will definitely be a factor, but there may be some settings that can speed up the solves so it may still be worthwhile posting a .fit file for others to play around with.

You should confirm that your image scale setting in SGP is accurate (Camera tab in the Control Panel.) If that is off, it will really make the the local solver take longer. Another tip to speed things up is to remove the index files that are below your image scale. You can look in the ansvr log (Start Menu => Astrometry.net local solver => Watch ansvr Log) to see which index files are giving the solution, then remove index files for smaller scales. The smaller scale files are much larger and there is no point having the solver search those indexes for a solution.

Andy

Thanks again Andy. The number of indexes I’m running is likely to be a large part of the problem. Trouble is,I image at quite a few different scales, but for the solves I’ve done so far I’ve filled the image scale box, this should limit the search, does it?

Huw

Hi Huw,

The steam powered laptop is the most likely cause, I set up a few local servers for people in the days before the installer and one of them found the internet version solved quicker as the laptop could not cope well.