PlaneWave L-350 failed to connect

Newbie here, so maybe I’m doing something very stupid. Under Equipment, selected “PlaneWave Interface 4 (PWI4)” and get Error:
“Check Driver: cannot create object type of progID: ASCOM:PWI4.Telescope”
I naively assumed the L-350 mount could be controlled by SGP via ASCOM.
Brian

ASCOM diagnostics program returned this error:
ASCOM.PWI4.Telescope (both 32 and 64 bit)
This driver is not registered for COM (can’t find ProgID), please re-install.

Hm, may need to reach out to PlaneWave to see if something is up with their driver. Or try reinstalling the driver and potentially even repairing the ASCOM platform if the driver reinstall doesn’t get things going.

If there’s an ASCOM driver it should just work however if it’s 32 or 64bit specific then you may need to use the corresponding SGP version as well. However most telescope drivers seem to handle 32/64 just fine.

Jared

Thank you, Jared. The PWI4 Planewave mount control software changelog indicates they are chasing a lot of ASCOM issues.
Secondly, another L350 mount owner at my remote observatory just told me he cannot get the L350 and PWI4 to work with either CCDautopilot and Voyager.
So i will focus on PlaneWave to try to solve the problem.

Should my Planewave L350 mount prove to be incompatible with SGP, could I ask for a refund?

Jared,
SUCCESS! Following your sage advice, PlaneWave had me download their latest beta PWI4 mount control software. I just got SGP to do an automated sequence (slew to target, don’t center/solve, take 5s exposure, park). SUCCESS!
The only hiccup is that SGP gave me a warning that the scope was not tracking (though I had previously homed the scope and had it tracking on an object). I clicked on the warning to start tracking and all was fine. If you have any insight on that, let me know.
THANKS!!!
Brian

Hi Brian,