Potential Pixel Scale Problem

Hi there,
I am relatively new to using SGP and Astrophotography in general, but I’ve been able to take some images of galaxies and stars with SGP.

I’ve been getting a problem however when I try to plate solve and centre using PlateSolve2. I get an error saying the “Plate Scale hint is not within 25% of the hinted pixel scale” or something rather.

I had thought that I set up the pixel scale properly, both in the Control Panel and Equipment Profile Manager. But maybe it is not the case.

The equipment I am using (I’m based at a University):

14" Schmidt Cassegrain
Focal length: 3910mm

Camera:
Atik 383L
Pixel size: 5.40 microns

Reducer Lens:
0.63 Celestron Reducer

I am led to believe that it is the pixel scale that is causing the problems, but I am not sure how I can fix it. (tried to upload the log file but couldn’t for some reason).

According to Astronomy.tools the pixel scale on that setup should be about .50
If I remember correctly, you can specify the pixel scale in the equipment profile.

If you can get an image to plate solve, it should show you the actual pixel scale and you should be able to figure out the actual focal length as well.

1 Like

Most plate solvers require hints in order to succeed. A hint is comprised of an approximate location and an approximate scale. It’s not a guarantee that the solve is bad if you see that warning as some solvers are more robust than others, but at the very least, it’s a note that your 1x1 image scale in the camera tab can be more accurate. There is a calculator button next to the scale field and it seems like you have all of the parts of the equation that are required to generate a (reasonably close) scale value.

1 Like

Ok so after importing one of my photos into AstroImageJ (I use this for producing transit plots) and checking the fits header, the image dimensions itself are 1677 pixels x 1264 pixels.