Sequence Generator Pro 3 and FocusLock reviews

Hi All,
I know this is probably an old subject but I cannot find any reviews on the use of FocusLock software with SGPro and how they found it ?

appreciate your thoughts
regards Peter

It’s possible that @JeffDickerman from Optec may have some insight here.

Hi Ken,
Thanks for your reply, I have been in contact with Jeff but this software is no longer available.
As I have just resurrected my rig and updating every thing I am just wondering what is the latest that other users are using as a focus system with SGPro? …this FocusLock concept sounded really good.
regards Peter

Hello, I have been using SGPro and focus lock for several years now without any problems.

With the way I use it, Focus lock doesn’t really interact with SGP. It gets its image data from PHD2. Since Focus Lock will be moving the focuser and SGP also connects to the focuser you’ll need an ASCOM driver that allows multiple programs to connect to it.

If you switch off Focus Lock’s control of the focuser, then you can use SGPs auto focus routine to get you to best focus. Useful for calibrating Focus Lock. Once done just let Focus Lock do it’s thing.

Cheers,
Ian

I think that this is near the same as FocusLock or at least they were both based on the same technology: https://www.innovationsforesight.com/education/real-time-autofocus/ SGPro does not have any direct support for SharpLock, but I expect it would be very similar to FocusLock

Hi Ian,
thanks for your reply and the info re how it runs with PHD2 and the ASCOM driver needed
the more I read the more i wish i could get my hands on a copy of FocusLock.

Cheers Peter

Hi Ken,
thanks for the reply Ill do some more searching

Cheers Peter

Hi again Ian,

If I could ask just to clarify your comments and your actual focuser settings in SGP.