SGP Pro Evaluation

I am very new to electronic assisted astronomy and I am evaluating SGP to see if it is compatible with my system. Im hoping someone has a similar set-up and can tell me there SGP will support ans run all my hardware.

1. telescope is a celestron Nexstar 8SE
  2. mount is factory celestron alt/azm that came with the scope
  3. I am using an ZWO autofocuser
  4. I am using an off-asix guider
  5. main camera is a ZWO ASI224mc
  6. guild camera is a ZWO ASI120mm
  7. The mount, cameras, focuser connect to a ZWO ASIair wifi to my laptop

SGP is certainly compatible with all your gear…with the exception of the ASIAir. SGP would take the place of the ASIAir.

Thank you,
Jared

OK… i was concerned a bit because the software that came with the asiair recognized the hardware by name and allowed me to choose it. SGP just has generic names. for each device.

How does SGP take the place of my ASIAir? Are we talking cabling from the mount to my laptop?

Yes. The laptop would replace the ASIAir. Some people use a small windows PC located on the mount and then remote into it from another device. This is what I use.

https://a.co/d/eKVlpQY

Since the ASIAir is a closed system it will only work with ZWO devices and a handful of mounts. SGP will basically work with any piece of hardware and from multiple and mixed vendors. For some devices SGP will have direct support and for others you’ll need to install the ASCOM driver from the mfg.

Thank you,
Jared

Thats an interesting device. What do you use for a screen to setup/run SGP? How do you link this device to a laptop for viewing?

Jared,

Since the mini-pc needs a power connection (it has no batteries) what type of power supply splitter to you use to power the mni-pc, mount, etc since each has a different type of power connector?