Some thoughts on auto focusing

To begin this lengthy post, let me say that this is neither request nor recommendation – merely some ideas related to future updates to the auto focus routines in SGP. While I have been an active amateur astronomer for several decades, I have only been active in imaging for a little more than a year. In that time, I have used most of the popular image capture packages – including Nebulosity, CCDSoftV, MaximDL v6 and many more. I’ve only been using SGP since early January and, IMHO, SGP is by far the best designed and implemented of them all. The integration of auto focus and plate solving routines into the image capture process in combination with a modern GUI puts SGP at the top of the list, as far as I am concerned.

I am imaging with a 12" Meade LX850-ACF f/8 OTA and the issue of obtaining and then maintaining accurate focus is a challenge. Focusing is further complicated by the significant temperature effects of that big OTA. Since revisions to the current auto focusing logic have been extensively discussed in this forum, I would like to offer some ideas that I believe could speed up the focusing process.

It seems to me that the process of auto focusing can be divided into two parts. First, we need to continue to support full auto focusing based on image analysis with the revisions that have already been discussed in this forum. Secondly, I would like to see an implementation of a faster method of focusing, which I will refer to as “focus adjustment.” Thirdly, I believe it is very important that temperature readings be used as part of all focusing routines.