Dithering PHD2 every x pictures

Hi

Would it be possible to set a “Dithering every x pictures” being x the Numbers of images taken before PHD2 dithers?

It would be helpful if someone dithers, but not for every image taken.

Best regards

Alfredo

I’m new to SGP but dithering every “X” frames is the option I chose when setting up the program.

milliesand, I think you might be thinking of setting up the auto focus parameters, which has an option to auto focus every “x” images. I don’t believe there is currently an option to dither every “x” frames.

The option to dither every X frames does not exist.

Just wondering what the reasoning is for this request? Generally you want to dither such that noise doesn’t stack on top of each other and overwhelm the signal. If you’re not dithering very often then you’re stacking noise and amplifying the noise signal as well.

Is settling taking too long? I guess I’m after the reason rather than the solution.

Thanks,
Jared

Hi Jared

Yes, reason is mainly time. On a night with 100 exposures and 3 min each (hyperstar use and Canon DSLR) I found that almost an hour is taken when dithering after all frame was selected using Backyard EOS linked to PHD. So, a session of 5 hr exposures takes about 6 hr if I choose to dither after every frame.

That time dramatically lowered when I chose dither every 3 or even 5 images. To me, there wasn’t too much difference when I chose this option over dither after every frame. Given that there were about 100 exposures, and dithering after each 5 frames, there was plenty of signal to take advantage of the dithering process. And almost more than an additional hour exposure.

So, It is a valuable resource when the imaging session is composed by a lot of relatively short exposures (May be not so much if you have not so many long frames).

It would be very good to have this option.

Best regards

Alfredo