Questions about ASTAP Plate Solve Setup

I’m new to Plate Solving and am trying to get it installed and running. I’m following along with Chris Woodhouse’s YouTube video on the subject with regards to SGP but am not getting it all. I do believe I have it installed but when configuring it in the Equipment Profile Manager I need a little info. He is recommending an approximate 10 sec exposure time. Is that a reasonable starting point? What are the effects of the search regions and the binning options? He says to use 2x2 binning and a few hundred regions but really doesn’t explain why. What does using more regions get you? What are the effects of attempting to use this when you have a slow internet connection? I’ve seen some talk that ASTAP does have a blind solve product that supports local installation. Is that something that may be supported by SGP soon? Appreciate any help.

10 seconds is a good starting point but it can work down to 1 second. ASTAP requires requires about 30 visible stars for reliable detection. If your using a h-alpha filter or any other small band filter in some cases 20 seconds required. If it fails, in most cases just increase the exposure time. If M13 fills most of the image, you have to reduce the exposure time as indicated in this forum.

The search regions setting indicates how may areas/regions it will search around the initial RA, DEC position. For ASTAP you can set this at max regions. It will search then up to maybe 90 degrees from the start point in less then a minute before a timeout stops it. So it will work effective as a blind solver. (search regions is a setting from PlateSolve2 and since ASTAP is operated in PlateSolve2 mode reused. In the long term the ASTAP native mode should be used by SGP)