SGP won't sync plate solve with telescope

I would be massively grateful if anyone could help me with this. I’ve read through forums but can’t find anything that helps…

I have been using EQASCOM with SGP and an HEQ5 mount for a few months now and all as been working fine. With no changes to any settings, I am suddenly getting an error message after a plate solve: ‘error: could not sync to telescope’.

This began with the telescope plate solving and syncing in the park position, then slewing to its target, then plate solving but not centring properly, with the error figure barely changing on each solve for centring.

Now it won’t even do the initial solve and sync, giving me the message: ‘could not sync the telescope’.

Strangely if I change ‘sync behaviour’ to ‘none’ (a setting I never normally use) the telescope will solve and sync in the park position telling me ‘successfully solved the current frame’ and ‘the telescope has been synchronised’. But then it slews very very far off from the target, even the opposite direction. With the setting at ’sync’ it won’t even give me the solve and sync in park position. Not sure whether that sheds light on a possible solution, but I’m just mentioning it in case.

The nudge function in the control panel does move the scope, so there appears to be a working link between SGP and the scope.

The telescope is connected successfully in ‘connect equipment’ in SGP.

Port settings are correct - EQMOD is detecting the correct port and this is shown in EQMOD’’s Toolbox>driver settings and also in Windows Device Manager as the same port.

When I pull up EQASCOM TOOLBOX, ‘setup’ has a button reading ‘ASCOM connect’. I have tried clicking on this so it reads ‘ASCOM disconnect’ but it makes no difference. I have never clicked on this before when the system has been working fine.

Thank you in advance for any suggestions!